NEBOSH vs IOSH vs OSHA: which is best for an HSE job in oil and gas? They are not three versions of the same thing. The NEBOSH International General Certificate (IGC) is a formal qualification with an exam and a practical assessment, and a common requirement in HSE officer ads outside the US. IOSH Managing Safely is a three-day awareness course for line managers. OSHA 10 and OSHA 30 are US hazard awareness cards, and OSHA itself says they are not certifications. If you want a career as an HSE officer, start with NEBOSH IGC (outside the US) or with the BCSP route (inside the US).
This guide compares them, explains what each involves, and covers HSE officer jobs and pay in oil and gas.
NEBOSH vs IOSH vs OSHA at a glance
| NEBOSH IGC | IOSH Managing Safely | OSHA 10 / 30 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Qualification (SCQF Level 6) | Awareness course | Outreach training completion card |
| Who it is for | People starting an HSE career, supervisors, managers | Line managers and team leaders | US workers (10-hour) and supervisors (30-hour) |
| Length | At least 63 taught hours plus about 40 hours of private study | Three days | 10 or 30 hours |
| Assessment | Open-book scenario exam plus a practical risk assessment | Not described as an exam on IOSH’s page | Course completion |
| Expiry | Not stated by NEBOSH | Certificate does not expire | Not stated generally; maritime cards do not expire |
| Use in HSE jobs | Common requirement for HSE officers outside the US | Useful for supervisors, rarely enough on its own | Often asked for on US sites |
NEBOSH IGC
The NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety is accredited at SCQF Level 6, which NEBOSH says is comparable to RQF Level 3 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland (NEBOSH).
NEBOSH IGC full form and course content
IGC stands for International General Certificate. It covers how to manage health and safety (policy, risk assessment, leadership, monitoring) and how to control common workplace hazards. It is not specific to oil and gas; NEBOSH describes it as relevant to every workplace.
NEBOSH IGC course duration
NEBOSH sets a minimum of 63 taught hours plus about 40 hours of private study. Fast-track learners can finish in 10 working days. You must study with a NEBOSH-accredited Learning Partner; self-study is not possible. There are no formal entry requirements, but NEBOSH recommends an IELTS score of 6.0 or higher.
How the IGC is assessed
- Unit GIC1 (IG1 in the 2018 specification): an open-book, scenario-based digital exam. You have 24 hours to access and submit it, from 11am UK time on the exam date, followed by a short interview about your submission.
- Unit GIC2 (IG2): a practical risk assessment and action plan for your workplace.
Is NEBOSH IGC “level 3”?
It is SCQF Level 6, which NEBOSH says is comparable to RQF Level 3. People often call it a Level 3 qualification for that reason.
NEBOSH IGC course fees in India and Pakistan
NEBOSH does not publish one course price, because Learning Partners set their own fees. Compare several accredited providers, check what is included (exam fees, resits, study material), and confirm the provider is accredited before you pay. You can verify a NEBOSH certificate online, and employers do.
Does the IGC lead to IOSH membership?
Yes. NEBOSH says IGC holders can become Affiliate Members of IOSH and that it meets the academic requirement for Technical Membership (Tech IOSH) with appropriate experience. NEBOSH also notes that, for IOSH membership eligibility, assessments must be taken in the UK unless the learner registered before 31 August 2022, so check this with IOSH if membership matters to you. IGC holders can also become Associate Members of IIRSM.
After the IGC, the usual next step for a career in HSE is the NEBOSH International Diploma.
IOSH Managing Safely
IOSH is the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health, the UK-based professional body. Managing Safely is its best-known course. IOSH describes it as “a practical awareness and skills course” for line managers and team leaders without prior safety expertise. The full course takes three days, the certificate does not expire, and there is an optional one-day refresher (IOSH).
IOSH also runs membership grades, from Affiliate up to Chartered (CMIOSH), which matter for senior HSE careers (IOSH membership).
NEBOSH or IOSH: which is better?
For an HSE career, NEBOSH IGC. It is a formal qualification with independent assessment and leads towards the Diploma and IOSH membership. IOSH Managing Safely is the better choice if you are a supervisor or manager in another discipline (operations, maintenance, construction) who needs to understand safety management, not change career.
OSHA 10 and OSHA 30
OSHA is the US federal workplace safety agency, not a training body. Its Outreach Training Program gives workers a 10-hour or 30-hour course completion card in construction, general industry or maritime. The 10-hour class covers awareness of common hazards; the 30-hour class is for supervisors or workers with some safety responsibility (OSHA).
Important points from OSHA itself:
- “None of the courses within the Outreach Training Program is considered a certification.”
- The program is voluntary and does not meet the training requirements of any OSHA standard, though some states, cities and employers require it.
- Cards are issued by authorised trainers or authorised online providers, and OSHA does not keep records of classes run by trainers.
Outside the US, an OSHA 30 card is sometimes listed in ads, but it is not a substitute for NEBOSH where NEBOSH is asked for. Be careful with courses sold abroad as “OSHA certification”: only OSHA-authorised trainers can issue real Outreach cards.
The US route: ASP and CSP
In the US, professional HSE careers usually go through the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). The Certified Safety Professional (CSP) needs a bachelor’s degree, four years of safety, health and environment experience (at least half of it preventive, professional-level work), a qualifying credential such as the Associate Safety Professional (ASP), and a pass in the CSP exam (BCSP).
Which one should you take?
| Your situation | Best first step |
|---|---|
| You want to become an HSE officer in the Gulf, India, Asia or Africa | NEBOSH IGC |
| You are a supervisor or manager in another discipline | IOSH Managing Safely |
| You work on US sites | OSHA 10 (workers) or OSHA 30 (supervisors), as the employer asks |
| You want a long-term US safety career | A relevant degree, then ASP and CSP |
| You are already an HSE officer and want to move up | NEBOSH International Diploma, then Chartered IOSH |
For offshore work you will also need safety training such as BOSIET and H2S; see our guide to offshore safety certificates.
HSE jobs in oil and gas
HSE roles range from site safety officer to process safety engineer and HSE manager. Process safety (HAZOP, layers of protection, safety cases) is a specialist branch that usually needs an engineering degree.
On RigJobsDirect on 16 October 2026 we listed 566 HSE jobs at 117 employers worldwide. Some locations:
| Location | Open HSE jobs |
|---|---|
| Houston | 29, at 19 employers |
| Abu Dhabi | 25, at 8 employers |
| Singapore | 13, at 8 employers |
| Kuala Lumpur | 5 |
| Aberdeen | 4 |
HSE officer jobs in the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Qatar
HSE officer jobs in the Gulf include construction, plant and offshore project roles. Read each ad for the certificates it asks for; NEBOSH IGC is commonly listed. Never pay an agent for a job or a visa; our guide to avoiding recruitment scams explains the warning signs, including fake certificates. See energy jobs in Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Qatar.
HSE jobs in oil and gas: salary
In the US, occupational health and safety specialists averaged $93,860 a year in May 2025, and occupational health and safety technicians $68,120, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). In the Houston metro area, specialists averaged $90,280, and in Midland $92,920. On RigJobsDirect on 16 October 2026, 52 of the 566 HSE jobs stated a yearly salary, and most of those were between $75,000 and $210,000 a year.
We did not find official HSE salary statistics for the Gulf. Gulf salaries are generally not taxed and are split into basic pay and allowances; see our guide to Gulf oil and gas salaries and benefits.
Course rules, fees and recognition change. This guide is general information, so check the official links before you pay for a course.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, NEBOSH or IOSH?
For an HSE career, NEBOSH IGC. It is a formal qualification with independent assessment. IOSH Managing Safely is a three-day awareness course meant for line managers in other roles.
Is OSHA 30 a certification?
No. OSHA says none of its Outreach Training Program courses is a certification. You get a course completion card, which some employers and US states require.
How long is the NEBOSH IGC course?
At least 63 taught hours plus about 40 hours of private study. Fast-track courses can be finished in 10 working days.
Does NEBOSH IGC expire?
NEBOSH does not state an expiry date for the IGC on its qualification page. Employers may still want recent training or refreshers in specific topics.
Can I get an HSE officer job with only NEBOSH IGC?
Sometimes, for junior roles, especially with site experience in construction or operations. Senior roles usually ask for several years of experience and often the NEBOSH Diploma or a degree.
What do HSE jobs in oil and gas pay?
In the US, occupational health and safety specialists averaged $93,860 a year in May 2025 (BLS). HSE ads on RigJobsDirect that stated pay mostly offered $75,000 to $210,000 a year.
